

Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc. 90 Church Street, 4th Floor New York, NY 10007 212-417-7329

Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc. Minutes of Board of Directors' Meeting <u>August 22, 2011</u>

A Special Meeting of the Directors of the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative, Inc., a Delaware non-profit corporation (the "Corporation"), was held on August 22, 2011 via conference call pursuant to written notice sent to each Director.

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, David Littell, at approximately 4:34 pm.

Persons in Attendance

The following Directors, constituting a quorum, were present via conference line for the meeting:

Dan Esty, CT John Betkoski, CT Collin O'Mara, DE Arnetta McRae, DE Patricia Aho, ME David Littell, ME Robert Summers, MD Miles Mitchell for Doug Nazarian, MD Rachel Evans for Mark Sylvia, MA Clifton Below, NH Thomas Burack, NH Steven Jenks for Bob Martin, NJ Garry A. Brown, NY Jared Snyder for Joe Martens, NY Doug McVay for Janet Coit, RI Kenneth Payne, RI Justin Johnson, VT James Volz, VT

Miles Mitchell was appointed to serve as an alternate director on behalf of Mr. Nazarian; Rachel Evans was appointed to serve as an alternate director on behalf of Mr. Sylvia; Steven Jenks was appointed to serve as an alternate director on behalf of Mr. Martin; Jared Snyder was appointed to serve as an alternate director on behalf of Mr. Martens.

The written designations of the alternates were duly received and are attached to the minutes of this meeting.

Also present by invitation were the following people: Tracy Babbidge (CT), Valerie Gray (DE), Caroline Snyder (DE), John Brautigam (ME), Diane Franks (MD), Kathy Kinsey (MD), Bill Lamkin (MA), Jim Austin (NY), Dave Coup (NY), Kevin Hale (NY), Karl Michaels (NY), Lois New (NY), John Williams (NY); Lisa DeVito, RGGI, Inc.; Nicole Singh, RGGI, Inc.; and Jonathan Schrag as Executive Director.

Welcome and Introductions

The Chair, Mr. Littell, opened the meeting and thanked all participants for joining. The Chair stated that a quorum of the Directors was present. The Chair reviewed the meeting agenda, filling vacant Executive Committee positions and receiving program updates.

Nomination of Committee Members

Mr. Below presented a proposed slate of nominations to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee. Mr. Volz was nominated as Treasurer. Mr. Summers was nominated as a Member at Large. Mr. Burack was nominated to join the Executive Committee as a Member at Large upon Mr. Below's anticipated departure.

After a brief discussion, and on a motion duly made by Mr. Johnson and seconded by Mr. O'Mara, it was

RESOLVED Mr. Volz shall serve as Treasurer, Mr. Summers shall serve as a Member at Large, and Mr. Burack shall serve as a Member at Large following the departure of Mr. Below, respectively.

2011 CO₂ Emissions Update

The Board reviewed the Q2 2011 CO₂ Emissions Summary report.

Update on Preparations for Conducting Program Review

The Board received a briefing on IPM modeling conducted since the June Board Meeting in Hartford and reviewed the schedule for modeling through early 2012.

The group was also briefed on preparations for upcoming stakeholder meetings and learning sessions. The learning sessions will solicit information from independent experts and stakeholders on topics that states may address in program review, such as the CO₂ allowance budget, flexibility mechanisms and imports.

Adjournment

There being no other business for the Board, after a motion duly made by Mr. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Burack, the Board agreed upon consensus to adjourn at 5:04 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Kenneth Kimmell